For the sake of writing

Dear reader, let me begin, and do not take this to be an effort to obfuscate the issue, but rather to provide nuance as to why I haven’t wished you a happy new year despite wanting to for the last two weeks. I have to say that I have been longing to get  a forum, any forum for that matter (please forgive my love for appositives) to use these two words; obfuscation and nuance. But before I indulge in a brief explanation of what these terms mean, let me retrace my steps and find my path to my original intent. Clearly,explaining these words is definitely inimical to the spirit of this post but without wanting to exacerbate this diversion, let me point you attention back to the title. Yes, this post have no head or tail and those who attempt to discern any deeper meaning would be exercising an effort in futility. This being January, kindly save your cognitive faculty for more important things, like creating a story which might get you a soft loan from a stingy friend.

Most of you must have had an awesome time during the holidays and are reeling from the effect of overindulging in hedonism at the expense of better judgement and restrain. Most of you must have packed your skimpy clothes and headed to enjoy the pleasures of the coast or the serenity of Naivasha. Its all good, you have fun with your women, get intoxicated with your booze, smoke your weed and other shit, yeah we know how you roll. But answer me this, you arrogant prick, how are you enjoying the empty pocket right about now. I can see you trying to placate you human resource manager or payroll guys hoping that this kindness will translate to an advance or a small loan. yeah give up, eat your greens for the month, drink your cheap liquor and grow some white hair while at it. Honestly, I don’t really give a damn. What I mind, with good reason, is my inability to put words to blog on any topic worth my effort and worthy of your time. So I find myself here, tail between my legs, throwing words without cohesion and lacking synergy between intent and meaning; totally devoid and with complete disregard to word syntax.

But seriously, happy new year. For those guys who are regulars at this verbal cafe, welcome, any time, the ambiance haven’t changed a bit. The menu is likely to improve though, to cater to your growing tastes and accommodate the needs of those inclined to specific biases. And for those who I make a daily effort to drag my tired grey matter as I shift through your posts in the hope of literal enlightenment and cognitive satiety, kindly enrich your content so we have a reason to keep coming back. I apologize, if some of you find some of my chosen words to be a tad convoluted. I will try to mitigate the level of complexity, hopefully in a few months,I will achieve complete detente. Well, I did warn you, if you cared to notice, that this article was written with a single aim. To write, for the sake of writing, governed by no particular objective and constrained by no individual purpose. Since this is supposed to be a free forum, and the underlying attitude being a forum for the unexpected, bear with my irrelevance and forgive my self-aggrandizement. I haven’t forgotten, that supposedly I should provide the meaning of those two words, it would be too easy for me to do so, but I choose not to. Blogosphere is a volatile zone, so today, take this to be homework, and I expect you to provide your answers as soon as you possibly can. And no cheating please.

22 responses to “For the sake of writing

    • the subjectivity of knowledge and the context which favors knowledge acquisition differs both on the circumstances surrounding the knower and his cognitive abilities to grasp new concepts and so defining what is common, and what is not, is largely a matter determined by those two premises and so i find your assertion faulty at the least. happy new year too.

  1. There are some documents that require several readings in order that they reader may fully grasp the message contained therein. I have read this post three times. On the first attempt I was laughing out loud. The second reading brought me down to earth and I became quite serious. Upon the third reading I burst into tears……

    Happy New year to you and your loved ones and all your esteemed readers – Looking forward to more lively conversations

    ps Where is the best place to hide a leaf

    • its just that most of us stagnate at some point, we become comfortable at the level which we have become acknowledged as good writers, but don’t you think we can go higher. i’ve come to think that sometimes, when a person thinks big words are being used, one might need to check his level of literacy and evaluate whether he is deficient on the vocabulary side. what do you think?

  2. Cyril Connolly once wrote: “Better to write for yourself and have no public than write for the public and have no self.”

    I usually recite this quote lots when I feel like I’m about to lose my true north. All I can say is, Just keep on writing anything that comes to mind as long as it’s fun. yes?

    • hey good to find you here, sometimes i just like to see whether I can use some of the words I pick during my daily readings, it helps one grow as a reader, i think.

  3. And what can hinder you from writing, what mon a mie, yet it’s as if your very own life hangs on the simple words you generate from your mind? Expecting more pieces this year. no pressure though!

    • i shall strive to deliver, for this forum hopes to offer more to those who make an effort to read, for its an honor, when readers like yourself trouble themselves to leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

