The Burning land

Chapter 2

pg 13 n 14

I was born on a Friday and according to the Kenyan proverbs, I should be a lucky child. Yet no matter how much I try to believe it, it evades me to accept that such a fate was ever meant for me. I have never really encountered occasions that proved, or even attempted to support this particular proverb. Therefore, I strongly disagree with the saying that one is lucky as a child born on a Friday. But this is not about people born on Fridays, this story is about me and my beloved country and those people who would do it harm to continue fattening their pockets at the expense of the majority poor. But to go back to the Friday proverb, this year has been the worst for me so far.

A lot has happened in this single year, leaving me feeling empty and lost. I remember going through an article questioning the validity of a supreme and good being when there is so much suffering and evil in this world. Some wonder how such a God can sit aside and watch as good people live in misery and bad ones dwell in splendor and swim in an ocean of success. But I’ve also encountered several other philosophies that tend to prove that there is a God and one in particular showing that such a great God has created a different place where all people will be rewarded depending on their actions when they lived in this world. The good will be rewarded with eternal life, while the evil will be punished eternally.

Going back to my life, a lot has indeed happened this year. But a question that must linger in your mind, dear reader, is who I’m I? Well, that is a good question indeed. But I feel that you already know the answer to that; for if this story is about Kenya then it must be that I am a Kenyan. I am you, and i am me, I am the present and the future. My life is not unique but a replica of what we go through, and therefore to know me, just look within you and you will know my name. For in the mortality of our meaningless life, we share a common destiny and our individuality only but a perception. Therefore, i am every Kenyan, different yet similar. I am the conscience of our society, forcing you to reflect and join me in capturing history to avert a repeat of the same senseless bloodshed. We do this together; me and you, and i hope that when we come to the end, we will hold hands and start afresh. My name is unclear, my profession irrelevant, my struggles unimportant but of greater appreciation is my tribe Kenya.

What is in a name anyway? Every tribe in Kenya has a different methodology when it comes to assigning names to new borns. The tribe i find most enchanting is the Luo, their ingenuity in naming children has become legendary. They have a habit of taking the names of famous current events or famous people and baptizing their children with them. It is not uncommon to get kids with names like Bomb Blast akinyi, Obama Otieno, Moreno Ocampo Okoth and Donald Tramp Odhiambo. Where i come from children usually take the names of their relatives, usually those of their parent’s parents. Therefore, in my opinion a name is a name and is not what defines one’s identity and hence is not entirely that important. But we live in times when people love conformity and some of my readers might take offense that I do not furnish them with a name. But that is okay, for i believe it is time to break away from the literal chains that bind us to consistency, for freedom can only be achieved through violently breaking away from the status quo.

4 responses to “The Burning land

  1. I hate several things about myself.
    Hot temper
    I’m hot tempered and that tops my list.
    Super independence
    That’s probably good but mine is a little overboard.
    I was born on a Friday and according to the Kenyan proverbs, I should be a lucky child. Yet no matter how much I try to believe it, it evades me to accept that such a fate was ever meant for me. I have never really encountered occasions that proved, or even attempted to support this particular proverb. Therefore, I strongly disagree with the saying that one is lucky as a child born on a Friday. But this is not about people born on Fridays, this story is about me and my beloved country and those people who would do it harm to continue fattening their pockets at the expense of the majority poor. But to go back to the Friday proverb, this year has been the worst for me so far.

    A lot has happened in this single year, leaving me feeling empty and lost. I remember going through an article questioning the validity of a supreme and good being when there is so much suffering and evil in this world. Some wonder how such a God can sit aside and watch as good people live in misery and bad ones dwell in splendor and swim in an ocean of success. But I’ve also encountered several other philosophies that tend to prove that there is a God and one in particular showing that such a great God has created a different place where all people will be rewarded depending on their actions when they lived in this world. The good will be rewarded with eternal life, while the evil will be punished eternally.

    Going back to my life, a lot has indeed happened this year. But a question that must linger in your mind, dear reader, is who I’m I? Well, that is a good question indeed. But I feel that you already know the answer to that; for if this story is about Kenya then it must be that I am a Kenyan. I am you, and i am me, I am the present and the future. My life is not unique but a replica of what we go through, and therefore to know me, just look within you and you will know my name. For in the mortality of our meaningless life, we share a common destiny and our individuality only but a perception. Therefore, i am every Kenyan, different yet similar. I am the conscience of our society, forcing you to reflect and join me in capturing history to avert a repeat of the same senseless bloodshed. We do this together; me and you, and i hope that when we come to the end, we will hold hands and start afresh. My name is unclear, my profession irrelevant, my struggles unimportant but of greater appreciation is my tribe Kenya.

  2. there is no light without darkness,good cannot exist without evil n u wldnt know joy n happiness without turmoil n anguish.as far as i disagree with religion,to some extent am spiritual.i believe things happen for a reason n i dont have to particularly to get the why but accept that what has happened has.if not me then who?who would you wish all that,which is not right,on???
    they didnt get the sayn wrong, u r one lucky nigga////////////

Leave a Reply

